Ram Nath Kovind win’s 14th Presidential Elections

With 65.6% of the total 4774 votes Ram Nath Kovind on Thursday has been elected the 14th President of India defeating the former  Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar. Speaking to the press Mr. Kovind said “I never dreamed of this position nor it was my goal. My election to this post is a message to all those who discharge their duties with honesty and integrity”.

Ram Nath Kovind won 522 votes in the parliament and  2930 votes from the MP’s and MLA’s. When compared with the history of presidential polls, the vote percentage for Mr. Ram Nath Kovind seems to be neutral. While the highest percentage ever obtained was 99% with  Rajendra Prasad who was elected the president twice during 1952 & 1957 with a poll percentage of 83.8% and 99% respectively. Our Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam had a vote percentage of 89.6% making him the presidential candidate with the second highest vote percentage in the Indian history.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: